Guest Blogger: Maria Magdalena

It was our third camping trip with our homeschool community, Klub Sinau. And it was rainy day! Most of the campers tend to ignore rain, but not us. Camping in rainy day is so challenging.  We learn how to survive from the rain in the tent with dry clothes, sleeping bags, and food! Can we? Yes we can!

camprain5

Here are some tips for you to successfully camp in the rain:

  • Use waterproof tent with double roof. This kind of tent will protect you from the rain, even the hard rain.
  • Install your tent in correct way, this is to make sure you are well covered by your tent. Every kind of tent has their own installing instruction; you should follow the instructions of your own tent.
  • Make trench surrounding your tent right below your tent’s outer cover, except the door side. The trench is the way for the water to flow, this will make sure the water will not run into the bottom of your tent. If the water logged in the bottom of your tent, your tent will absorb it, and the inside part of your tent will get wet.  So do your clothes and all the stuff inside your tent.
  • Don’t forget to get your raincoat and boots. They will be your helpful gadgets if you need to get out from the tent.
  • Bring board games or books to spending time, because you can’t get out of your tent and enjoy the nature for a while.
  • Don’t forget to bring the ready-to-serve snacks! The cold weather will make you hungry, and you will not be able to cook!

And now, you are ready to enjoy your time dancing in the rain!

We came to the camping ground at noon.  After we built the tent came the hard rain. It finished at night. Thank God we still have time to cook our dinner and make up the campfire.
Morning is always the most beautiful time for me. I breathe the fresh air deeply, sent up my prayer, and suddenly I felt healthier. I turned on the stove to cook water to make coffee for me and my husband, tea for my son and my mother. The beautiful nature, fresh air, delicious coffee, warm family and friends… What else is more precious than these? I thank God for all that I have. And I still hope that we can go for more camping, whether it is in the rain or not.
About Maria Magdealena:
I am a homeschool mom, I love writing, travelling, and crafting. I live in a small village in Sumatera island. I also am type 1 diabetic. I am an educational consultant too, especially for homeschooing families. I have been blogging since 2009.  I write all my experiences in my blog, and I hope my blog will inspire all the readers.
You can view other posts by Maria Magdalena here:
Leave a Reply

