Homemade Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Mac N Cheese

It all started when I was scrambling to come up with another food for my son’s first birthday. Of course, it had to be baby friendly, yummy, and very easy since I had already made my list and gotten everything else done before realizing I didn’t have enough food for the amount of people coming. So, I asked my ever so helpful three year old twins, and they said, “Ooh Ooh, we know!! Mac and cheese, Mommy.”  From that came this fabulous recipe that I normally have all the ingredients on hand for, is very easy to throw together, and my family cannot resist.

Ingredients:

8 oz (a block) cream cheese
1 lb mac n cheese
1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 1/2 cup shredded Colby cheese
1/4 cup parmeasean cheese
12 oz evaporated milk
4 cups milk
1 tsp paprika
salt and pepper TT

Directions:

Mix all the ingredients into a crock pot and cook on low for 3 1/2 hours, stirring every 45 min.

Tips:
*Cut the cream cheese into smaller pieces before mixing.
*You can use different cheeses for your taste. I have tried different combinations, but the Colby and cheddar came out the best. If you use 3 cups of cheddar, it can have a grittier, dry feeling.
*I add a good amount of salt and pepper  in the beginning but do a taste test about 3 hours in to see if it needs more.
*Our family is pretty obsessed with bacon, so I normally do up a batch and let them crumble it on top (that is their favorite!)

Hope you enjoy it!!

Leave a Reply

