Chicken Cordon Bleu

CCB 1

I REALLY like the taste of chicken cordon bleu! About ten years ago, I thought to myself, “I bet I could make this myself!”  So I put pen to paper and came up with a recipe that was close enough for me.  It did not work out the way I planned, so I tweaked it and came up with something I truly enjoyed the second time around.  Here is what I came up with and still use today (this serves 4 people, so tweak accordingly) :

INGREDIENTS:
4 Large boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 Slices deli maple ham
4 Slices provolone cheese
2 Eggs
2 Tbs water
1 1/2 cups Italian bread crumbs
4 Toothpicks
Meat tenderizer or mason jar
DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
2. Crack two eggs into a bowl or a plate with high sides.  Add 2 Tbs water and stir with a whisk or fork.
3. Place the breadcrumbs in another bowl or plate.
4. Spray an 8×8 baking dish (larger if making more than 4).
5. Set up an assembly line – lunch meat, cheese, chicken, and toothpicks in step one, then egg mixture, then bread crumbs, then baking dish.
6. Trim any fat from the chicken breasts.
7. Flatten the chicken breasts using a meat tenderizer.  If you do not have one, you can use a mason jar.  I do this on a cutting board to make it less messy.
ccb 2
8. Lay out one piece of chicken.  Place a slice of maple ham on the chicken, then a slice of provolone cheese.
ccb 3
9. Tucking the ham in where needed, roll the chicken up and secure with a toothpick.
ccb 4
10. Dip chicken in the egg, covering it completely, even on the inside edges (I do this part with my left hand).
ccb 5
11. Roll the chicken in the bread crumbs to coat completely, even on the inside edges (I do this part with my right hand.  This keeps one hand wet and one hand dry, which prevent the bread crumbs from clumping so much).
ccb 6
12. Place the chicken in the baking dish and repeat steps 8-11 for the remaining pieces of chicken.
ccb 7
13. Bake for 45 minutes or until dark brown and the cheese is oozing out.
This is my eight year old’s very favorite chicken!! I usually serve it with baked or mashed potatoes and a green vegetable.
Leave a Reply

