Letter to My Grandchild

c2i_155201591718

 

 

It is hard to believe that over a year ago my life changed for the better.  Our first grandchild entered our lives and our hearts are forever changed.  I have never laughed more, loved harder and stared longer in my life.  Soon after I learned the news that she was soon to enter the world, I took pen to paper and wrote her a letter.  A letter that I pray I can live up to.

 

 To My future grandchild:

 I will be the one that drops everything the moment I hear that you are about to make your entrance. 

 I will be the one that will annoys everyone with the huge amounts of pictures of  you that I will never stop sharing.

 I will be the one that inhibits your walking ability by not allowing your little feet to touch the ground until you are 7.

 I will be the one that serves your ice cream for dinner when you come to visit.

 I will be the one that reminds Pa Pa Wally that every nature hike should end at Dairy Queen.

 I will be the one that sits on the front row of every recital, VBS performance and any other event that includes you.

 I will be the one that secures your domain name the moment I know your name.

 I will be the one that gives umpires dirty looks when they have been a bad call for your team.

 I will be the one that carries on the tradition of always having a cookie drawer and placing $20 in your hand each time I see you.

 I will be the one that reminds you each day how  beautiful you are.

 I will be the one that reminds your mom that she was barely told the word no.

 I will be the one that will comfort you when your heart is broken and remind you that I really never liked him.

I will be the one that will encourage you to dream crazy wild dreams and to ignore those that tell you it sounds crazy.

 I will be the one that will pray for you and storm that gates of hell to protect you.

 

 I will be the one that teaches you important garage sales skills.

 I will be the one that will embarrass you with sappy texts.

 I will be the one that convinces your parents to buy you a puppy.

 I will be the one that constantly reminds you how awesome God is.

I will be the one that buys whatever you are selling in order for you to win the biggest prize .

I will be the one that cries the first time I have to tell you no and will probably say yes shortly after that.

 I will be the one that just watches you sleep for hours.

 Lastly… I will be the one that loves you…the way Jesus loves me.

 

11401364_10153986541708135_5071271309253945593_n

 

 

Joy Trachsel wants others to stop and look at poverty in a different way! As a Christian author and speaker, she travels nationally and internationally sharing the good news of Jesus and inspiring women to follow their calling. Her motto “we can’t do everything but we can do something” serves as a foundation to her life and her message. Learn more by visiting http://www.joytrachsel.com

 

11402930_10153983578558135_8935734832610817189_n

 

Social Media:

Facebook – Joy Bumpus Trachsel
Twitter – joyltrachsel
Instagram –Joytrachsel
Pinterest – Joy Trachsel

Blog – http://www.joytrachsel.com

Leave a Reply

