Pretzel Delight

Pretzel Delight

Growing up one, of my sister and brother’s favorite dessert was something my grandmother called pretzel delight. We moved to a new state, and I found out it is actually called pretzel salad in most places. Out of nowhere one da,y I got a craving for some of it, but after searching through multiple different recipes online, I just could not find one that was excatly what I wanted.  So I came up with my own recipe. It still has all the same aspects as most, but I changed some quantities and added a few things that take it to a whole different level.

INGREDIENTS:
3 cups crushed pretzels
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup melted butter
2 cups fresh sliced strawberries
1 package strawberry jello
1 cup boiling water
1/2 cup cold water
4 ice cubes
8 oz cream cheese
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 small tub of cool whip

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. If not done already, crush the pretzels until all are about 1/2 inch or smaller.  Mix the butter and brown sugar together with the pretzels and pat down in the bottom of a 9×13 inch pan.  Bake for 15 min.
3. While the Pretzel mix is baking, in a bowl, combine the cream cheese, cool whip, powdered sugar and vanilla extract until smooth. Put it in the fridge to chill.
4. Once the pretzel mix is done baking, put it aside to cool. Once cool, spread the cool whip mixture over the bottom and put it in the fridge to chill more.
5. Boil 1 cup of water and dissolve the package of jello into it.  Once dissolved, mix in cold water and ice cubes. Stir constantly until ice has melted completely.
6. Pour jello mixture over cool whip mixture in the pan, and cover the top with slices of fresh strawberries.
7. Let chill for at least 3 hours before serving.

I found that using fresh strawberries tastes much better than using frozen. The extra pretzel mixture boosts the crunch up a bit.  The vanilla and cream cheese add a bit more flavor to the cool whip layer. I made this when we had Karen and her family over for dinner, and both of our families loved it!

2 thoughts on “Pretzel Delight

  1. This looks like an awesome recipe, thank you. My grandmother makes this and it’s one of my most favorite things, but I always forget to get the recipe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

