Crostinis

crostinis 2

Last year, for my son’s first birthday party I was scrambling around trying to make up one more food item to serve.  It had to be quick, easy, and finger food style.  Looking around the kitchen, I found I had a baguette that needed to be used.  Originally, I thought of making some sort of Bruschetta, but I didn’t have any tomatoes or the normal stuff to put on it. So I threw some seasonings and other ingredients together.  What came out of it has become a household favorite and has been a huge hit at all the get togethers I have made it for.

INGREDIENTS:
Baguette
3/4 cup Olive oil
1/2 tsp Basil
1/4 tsp Rosemary
1/2 tsp Oregano
1/2 Garlic salt
1 1/2 cup Mozzarella cheese (shredded or slices)

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat the oven to broil at 500° (or Hi if you only have a Hi/Lo setting).
2. Slice the baguette into thin slices (a little 1/2″ thick).
3. Lay all the slices out flat on a greased baking sheet and set aside.
4. Pour the olive oil into a bowl and mix in all of the herbs. I prefer to use fresh herbs from my garden.  I just chop them up realyl fine and mix in the same as dried herbs.
5. Using a teaspoon, spoon the mixture over each baguette slice, spreading it out so that it covers the whole piece of bread. Stir your oil mixture frequently to make sure nothing settles to the bottom.  This way, you have the same flavor over each slice of bread.
6. Once each piece of baguette is covered in the oil/herb mixture, top it with Mozzarella.  If using sliced cheese, I would say use 1/4″ slice on each piece.  If using shredded cheese, sprinkle it on so each piece of bread is covered.
7. Place the baking sheet in the oven and broil for 3-5 minutes. Keep a very careful eye on them, because they will burn very easily if left under the broiler for too long.

It’s as easy as that!  Take them out of the oven, put them on a serving plate ,and VIOLA – a semi fancy, extremely tasty, little appetizer.  These are my husband’s favorite.  They are so quick and easy to make.  I hope you enjoy them just as much as we do!

Leave a Reply

