Butterscotch Cookies

butterscotch cookies

My kids love when I put a little twist on our cookies. Last time I took the boys to the store, Noah saw butterscotch chips and asked me to make cookies with them. I looked up my grandma’s chocolate chip cookie recipe and substituted the butterscotch chips for the chocolate chips to give it a whole new flavor. You wouldn’t even know it is the same base!

BUTTERSCOTCH COOKIES:

1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup butterscotch chips

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. In a bowl, mix together the shortening, sugar, and brown sugar until fluffy.
3. Add egg and vanilla.
4. In a separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients.
5. Add the dry ingredients to the dough; mix well.
6. Add the butterscotch chips into the batter.
7. Drop by teaspoonful onto a grease cookie sheet (I use a small cookie scoop).
8. Bake for 10 minutes.
9. Let the cookies cool on the sheet for two minutes.
10. Transfer cookies to wire rack to finish cooling.

I have also used crushed Andes mints in place of the butterscotch chips. I use whatever catches my eye in the baking aisle! Changing it up to another item gives it a completely different flavor with a tried and true base recipe.

Leave a Reply

